69. Andrew Davis, BBC Symphony Orchestra, 1993

Holst - The Planets (A Davis, BBC Symphony Orchestra, 1993)

iTunes
Amazon.com

Things I Noticed About “Mars”: Up to 1:14, all the instruments that weren’t playing the main rhythm drowned out the instruments that were; It’s bass-light; Someone plays a dodgy note at 3:53.

Things I Noticed About “Venus”: I didn’t notice nothin’ about “Venus”. It was utterly ordinary.

Things I Noticed About “Mercury”: See notes for “Venus”.

Things I Noticed About “Jupiter”: There’s a wrong horn note at 3:54, and there are some strange overtones at 5:36, but apart from that it’s all a bit blah.

Things I Noticed About “Saturn”: This isn’t as dull as the previous movements.

Things I Noticed About “Uranus”: Nothing to see here, folks.

Things I Noticed About “Neptune”: Er, ah, um, er….

I’ve come to the conclusion that this is definitely and unequivocally a Not-Terribly-Special Planets.

2 thoughts on “69. Andrew Davis, BBC Symphony Orchestra, 1993

  1. nzguy June 27, 2017 / 5:06 pm

    Please note that it is the BBC Symphony on this recording, not the BBC Philharmonic.

    Like

    • Peter June 28, 2017 / 8:27 am

      Oops.

      Thanks for spotting that error, nzguy.

      Fixed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

