24. Vladimir Jurowski, London Philharmonic Orchestra, 2009

Holst - The Planets (Jurowski, London Philharmonic Orchestra, 2010)

iTunes
Amazon.com

This “Mars” is fabulous. The interpretation is superb, the playing is magnificent, and the sound quality is excellent. What’s not to like?

“Venus” is serene.

“Mercury” isn’t the greatest I’ve heard, but it’s enjoyable (and the playing is still magnificent).

“Jupiter” starts off very well, but when the Jolly Tune began (at 0:54) I thought, “Whoah, this is fast. Slow down there, fella!” But then I thought, “Why not? It’s your recording, Vladimeerkat. You can get your orchestra to play as fast as you want.” Once I adjusted to the speed-demon approach to “Jupiter”‘s jolly bits, I was fine with it. It’s certainly bracing. (It’s the “splash of cold water in the face” of “Jupiter”s.) And when the Big Tune came (at 2:43) I was more than fine with it. It’s wonderful. By the time “Jupiter” had finished I had come to the conclusion that I really like this “Jupiter”.

“Saturn” is more conventional in its pacing (it doesn’t race away, leaving you behind). Actually, this “Saturn” is one of the best I’ve heard. It’s stunningly good. If Vlad doesn’t mess things up in the last two movements, this Planets is definitely going to go in the top 20. (The top 10 is crammed with impossibly good recordings of The Planets.)

Vlad doesn’t mess up “Uranus” at all. (Well, there’s a tiny horn mishap at 1:25, but that doesn’t count.) It’s excellent. This is Top 10 material. And so I’ll…

Gah! There’s a mistake in “Neptune”: a horn smears a note at 1:23. Ordinarily I wouldn’t be all that bothered, but it momentarily took me out of the reverie I was in listening to this hitherto stupendous (and mistake-free) recording of Them Planets. Grrr. (“Someone call the waambulance! Peter’s having a tanty!”) Ah well. Maybe I can forget it happened. Nope. I can’t. Grrr. But boy oh boy, this “Uranus” is excellent.

“Neptune” is excellent superb magnificent I think I’m running out of superlatives. I’ll have to consult a thesaurus. Hang on… “Neptune” is pulchitrudinous. The women’s chorus is positioned ideally in the mix – i.e., distantly. The Man They Call Holst specified this in the score: “The Chorus is to be placed in an adjoining room, the door of which is to be left open until the last bar of the piece, when it is to be slowly and silently closed.” That’s what it sounds like here.

Right. Now that I’ve heard Jurowski’s Planets in its entirety, I can sum it up by saying, “That was a refreshing look at The Planets. I liked it. A lot.”

12 thoughts on “24. Vladimir Jurowski, London Philharmonic Orchestra, 2009

  1. wonderboy September 20, 2016 / 5:14 pm

    waiting to get heard :(

    Like

  2. Hans December 1, 2018 / 3:19 am

    Underated . Awesome reading. Belongs to the Top-Ten.

    Like

  3. Pete Kowalsky December 9, 2020 / 3:06 pm

    Someone sneezing in the distance on Mercury @ about 0:37. Damn these new Beyerdynamic DT 1990’s I hear EVERYTHING oh wait that’s a GOOD thing! :D

    Like

    • Pete Kowalsky December 9, 2020 / 3:07 pm

      Also, I’m an idiot – apparently I bought this 2 years ago and forgot about it and now I own a second 24-bit FLAC download LOL. DERP!

      Like

      • Peter December 9, 2020 / 3:23 pm

        Hey, Pete

        Welcome to my world. Courtesy of my fabulously bad memory, I frequently double up on CDs. I’ll buy one, and when it arrives I’ll be pleased as punch. I’ll go to put it on the shelf and discover there’s one already there. Grrr.

        However, as I like to say, the advantage of having a bad memory is that you can hear something for the first time more than once.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Peter December 9, 2020 / 3:29 pm

      I love hearing teensy mistakes on CD that vinyl LPs conveniently tend to hide. All hail high resolution!

      Liked by 1 person

      • petekowalsky December 9, 2020 / 3:35 pm

        I love your site – I’ve been a HUGE lover of The Planets since I was a kid thanks to my father. I pointed him to your site here too since he was just asking me if I had any tips on a really nice recording of it. I Googled around and found you here. Funny I had to explain to my dad that this is not my site (same first name and love of this majestic and wondrous piece of music). I was also pleased to find your #1 choice and mine are the same… :)

        Like

      • Peter December 9, 2020 / 3:47 pm

        We’re both called Peter? We both love the Dutoit Planets?

        Things don’t get much better than discovering a soulmate.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Pete Kowalsky December 9, 2020 / 3:51 pm

        Watch out I might be your long lost parasitic twin. LOL!!!

        Like

      • Peter December 9, 2020 / 4:03 pm

        That’s entirely possible.

        Like

      • Peter December 9, 2020 / 4:01 pm

        “I love your site…”

        Aw, shucks. Thanks.

        “…– I’ve been a HUGE lover of The Planets since I was a kid thanks to my father. …”

        I first heard The Planets in my twenties. I discovered classical music relatively late. I was a teenager when I first heard classical music in the form of classical guitar music played by John Williams and Julian Bream. I was captivated and wanted to hear more, so I bought the Penguin Cassette Guide (1979) and started exploring.

        “… I pointed him to your site here too since he was just asking me if I had any tips on a really nice recording of it. I Googled around and found you here. Funny I had to explain to my dad that this is not my site (same first name and love of this majestic and wondrous piece of music). I was also pleased to find your #1 choice and mine are the same… 🙂”

        Excellent.

        Onward and upward!

        Like

Leave a comment