59. David Lloyd-Jones, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, 2008

Holst - The Planets (Lloyd-Jones, RSNO, 2001)

iTunes
Amazon.com

This one’s OK. The trumpets are a bit loud in “Mars” from 1:44-1:59, but that’s about it for niggles. It’s all played very well, but it’s not doing much for me.

Have I heard too many Planets recordings? Is that it? It could be, because this particular CD is highly regarded in all sorts of places (i.e., the places that review classical music CDs). “It’s a new benchmark,” “the one to own,” that sort of thing. But it ain’t movin’ me in the slightest. And by the three-minute mark in “Neptune”, I was waiting impatiently for it to end. Did I wake up this morning with my brain telling me, “You’re not going to enjoy The Planets today, Peter”? I hope not, because I like The Planets. Let’s see what happens with the next disc.

Addendum: The next disc I heard was James Judd and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s 1991 recording, and it immediately restored my faith in The Planets.

5 thoughts on “59. David Lloyd-Jones, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, 2008

  1. Sgt Yard August 27, 2016 / 4:45 am

    This is currently the only version of The Planets I have on CD. I remember the day I bought it – I simply grabbed the only recording they had in the shop! It’s very polished, and I think if it didn’t lead into Colin Matthews’ rather aimless “Pluto” I wouldn’t be on the lookout for another CD.

    My erstwhile girlfriend was with me the day I bought it – when she said “The Planets… What do they sing?” I knew we wouldn’t last long together! :D

    Like

  2. wonderboy September 20, 2016 / 5:35 pm

    its o.k. – but nothing more

    Like

  3. Geoff Arnold February 19, 2017 / 3:04 am

    Hi Peter,
    The above link to Judd’s Planets is not working.
    The postman brought me my 20th Planets tis morning (Boult ’54).
    They’re coming to take me away soon.
    Geoff.

    Like

    • Peter February 19, 2017 / 10:55 am

      “Hi Peter,
      The above link to Judd’s Planets is not working.”

      Thanks for spotting that error, Geoff.

      Fixed.

       
      “The postman brought me my 20th Planets this morning (Boult ’54).”

      Excellent.

       
      “They’re coming to take me away soon.
      Geoff.”

      Well, I hope that wherever you’re going they have a decent sound system, with lots of recordings of The Planets.

      Like

Leave a Reply

