78. Jahni Mardjani, Georgian Festival Orchestra, 1994

Holst - The Planets (Mardjani, Georgian Festival Orchestra, 1994)

iTunes
Amazon.com

Let’s get right to it. Let’s cut to the chase. Let’s… (I know, I know, you get it: We’re going to listen to the album without any nonsensical preambles – besides this one.)

Oh dear. I’m listening to “Mars”, and the hall acoustic is absolutely cavernous. There are out-of-tune instruments everywhere. Ooh, that’s a big mistake at 1:15. And that organ sound at 1:48…

Wait a minute. Haven’t I heard this before? Hang on, I’ll just check with another Planets recording I heard recently…

Just a bit longer…

A little bit more…

Ah-ha!

Well, I’ll be jiggered. (I sincerely hope that’s a family-friendly phrase.) This recording by Jahni Mardjani and the Georgian Festival Orchestra is exactly the same as the one by Jansug Kakhidze and the Tbilisi Symphony Orchestra. There is a difference between the two, though: the one I’m listening to at the moment (Mardjani) sounds like it’s been recorded in a much larger hall. But apart from that, they both have the same mistakes, the same organ sound, the same… They’re the same.

Wow. I don’t quite know how to proceed from here. Do I listen to this, with its cavernous sound, knowing it’s the same recording? Or do I stop listening now and merrily go on to the next Planets I find? Well, in the interests of completeness, I’m going to listen to it all the way through (again). When I started compiling this list I decided that I was going to listen to all of the Planets I found, no skimping. When I listen to a Planets recording, I listen to it all – I don’t listen to bits of it and then think “That’ll do!”. This is technically another Planets (it’s labelled as such) – albeit featuring people who may or may not be real and who may or may not be duplicated – so I’m going to plough ahead and listen to it all.

If you want to know what I thought of it, see my comments for the other one. I’m going to put this in the list one place below the other one (because of the worse sound).

Now, to ponder the imponderable: Which of these two recordings is the real one?

Addendum: This is possibly the weirdest experience I’ve had in listening to all 50-ish versions of The Planets. (This recording was Listen No. 49.) When the second-to-last track (“Uranus”) finished playing in that Spotify playlist, the last track appeared. Was it “Neptune”, the last movement of The Planets, and the last track of pretty much every recording of The Planets ever released? No it was not. It was – wait for it – a solo piano piece from the Romantic era. Yes, really. A solo piano piece. I am officially freaked out now.

2 thoughts on “78. Jahni Mardjani, Georgian Festival Orchestra, 1994

  1. Geoff Arnold February 20, 2017 / 1:46 am

    Hi Peter,
    There is another broken link here (ninth paragraph down).
    Sorry to nitpick.
    Geoff.

    Like

    • Peter February 20, 2017 / 9:54 am

      “Hi Peter,
      There is another broken link here (ninth paragraph down).
      Sorry to nitpick.
      Geoff.”

      Fixed.

      And there’s no need to apologise. Nitpick as much as you want.

      Like

Leave a Reply

