51. Peter Oundjian, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, 2011

Holst - The Planets (Oundjian, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, 2011)

iTunes
Amazon.com

Yep. This is good. “Mars” is slow and steady, and I like it that way. (I also like “Mars” fast and ominous, medium and threatening, glacial and monumental etc. I guess what I’m saying is that I like “Mars”.) As far as interpretations go, I’d say it’s a middle-of-the-road, nothing-to-write-home-about, nothing-to-wake-the-neighbours kind of reading etc. It’s well-played, well-recording, and I’m going overboard with the hyphens. It’s something I do from time to time. Sorry about that.

“Venus” is very nice. Not stupendous or anything, just very nice. So is “Mercury”.

“Jupiter” is well behaved. I can’t really think of anything else to say about it, as there’s nothing extreme, outrageous, shocking, startling, or miraculous about the interpretation.

Actually, that’s pretty much the feeling I have about all of what I’ve heard so far. Unless something weird happens in any of these movements (unlikely), this is going to be an unremarkable recording of these here Planets (likely).

“Saturn” is fine.

“Uranus” and “Neptune” went by without incident.

Overall, this is a play-it-safe reading of Yo Planettos, and I enjoyed it while it was playing. I’d call it better than good, but not as good as great. This is The Safe Planets. (For a while I thought about calling it either The Didn’t Need To Be Recorded Planets or It’s Another Planets).

Leave a Reply

