46. Walter Susskind, St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, 1975

Holst - The Planets (Susskind, St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, 1975)

iTunes
iTunes
Amazon.com

This is alright. And when I say “alright”, I mean it’s OK.

“Mars” trundles along fairly unthreateningly. A trumpeter fluffs a note at 1:11, and someone quietly plays a wrong note at 4:10, but apart from that it’s fairly smooth sailing. I did like the creepy snare drum from 3:14-3:44. This “Mars” is OK. I mean it’s alright. It doesn’t do much for me. It’s well played ‘n’ all, but it’s just a little too underpowered for my liking.

“Venus” is better. Not great, but better.

“Mercury” is enjoyable.

“Jupiter” starts off waaaay too slow for me. It does pick up a bit of pace later on, but it all feels a little sluggish.

“Saturn” is… well, it’s… er… what’s another word for “alright” or “OK”?

“Uranus” is manageable – I think. (It was hard to tell whether I enjoyed it or not once it had finished, because I pretty much forgot what I had just heard.)

Of all the tracks on this album, I enjoyed “Neptune” most (despite the weird female vocals at the end of the piece).

This is a distinctly middle-of-the-road Planets. If I had a top 100 list, this would be placed squarely at 50, right in the middle.

Leave a Reply

